Note: When you click on any of the following links, you will be leaving the Boulder Labs Library site. You may wish to review the privacy notice on those sites since their information collection practices may differ from ours.
For individuals from NIST looking to access eResources, please go to the following link.
Click on the letter that corresponds to the first letter of the database that you need to access.
ABI/INFORM Collection includes all content found in ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry. It also includes ABI/INFORM Archive, which offers a deep backfile of many of the most important business journals of the last century. This database includes important full-text journals and much sought-after titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports.
- Agricultural Economics
- Agriculture & Allied Disciplines
- Animal & Veterinary Sciences
- Aquaculture & Fisheries
- Earth & Environmental Sciences
- Extension & Education
- Farming & Farming Systems
- Food & Human Nutrition
- Plant Sciences
The database was created by the National Agricultural Library.
Provides over 19 million citations.
Coverage: 1990 - Present
- Popular Culture
- Social Science
Aggregates around 100 high-impact bioscience research journals from about 70 publishers
- Economic Botany
- Environmental Science
- Evolutionary Biology
- Mosses & Liverworts
- Natural History
- Veterinary Science
Coverage: Varies by journal
Journal / Coverage List
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) analyzes current policies and presents the impact of proposed policy alternatives in a timely and objective manner. Format types include reports, memoranda, briefings and consultations, seminars and workshops, congressional testimony, and responses to individual inquiries.
Major Policy Issues
DTIC is a database assembled by the Department of Defense providing access to 2 million+ publications covering 17 interest areas related to defense and defense technologies.
- Air Platforms
- Chemical/Biological Defense
- Civil Engineering
- Conventional Weapons
- Directed Energy Weapons
- Environmental Quality
- Ground Vehicles
- High Performance Computing
- Human Systems
- Information Systems
- Modeling & Simulation
- Surface Ships
- Strategic Environment Research & Dev
- Weapons Materials/Processes
For more information, see: http://www.dtic.mil/dtic/about/about.html.
EBSCO STM Source (NOAA & NTIA only)
STM Source is the world's most comprehensive full-text database geared specifically toward addressing the needs of research and development. This product contains over 6,000 full-text journals, including more than 5,500 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, engineering and medicine. In total, STM Source offers content from more than 9,400 publications including journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Key Features: More than 17 million records. Searchable cited references for nearly 800 journals. International full-text journals. Updated daily to ensure the most current content. Easy to use interfaces (via EBSCOhost or EDS).
EPA HERO (Health & Environmental Research Online)
The Health and Environmental Research Online (HERO) database provides an easy way to access and influence the scientific literature behind EPA science assessments.
The database includes more than 600,000 scientific references and data from the peer-reviewed literature used by EPA to develop its regulations for the following: Integrated Science Assessments (ISA) that feed into the NAAQS review, Provisional Peer Reviewed Toxicity Values (PPRTV) that represent human health toxicity values for the Superfund, and the Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS), a database that supports critical agency policymaking for chemical regulation. These assessments supported by HERO characterize the nature and magnitude of health risks to humans and the ecosystem from pollutants and chemicals in the environment.
HERO is an EVERGREEN database, this means that new studies are continuously added so scientists can keep abreast of current research. Imported references are systematically sorted, classified and made available for search and citation. Documents in the HERO database that have been cited in EPA risk assessments can be viewed publically via the LitBrowser tabs below.
HERO is part of the open government directive to conduct business with transparency, participation, and collaboration. Every American has the right to know the data behind EPA's regulatory process. With HERO, the public can participate in the decision-making process.
- Hazardous Waste
Coverage: 2011 - Present
For more information, see: https://hero.epa.gov/hero/index.cfm/search/index.
Essential Science Indicators (ESI)
The Essential Science Indicators database reveals emerging science trends as well as influential individuals, institutions, papers, journals, and countries in your field of research. It draws from science trend statistics from more than 12 million articles in more than 12,000 journals from around the world. You are able to research performance, identify significant trends, rank top performers, and evaluate potential employees and collaborators.
GPO (Government Printing Office)
Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.)
U.S. Government Information Resources
Coverage: 1976 - Present
Over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
- Areal Geology
- Economic Geology
- Engineering Geology
- Environmental Geology
- Extraterrestrial Geology
- Hydrogeology & Hydrology
- Marine Geology & Oceanography
- Mathematical Geology
- Mineralogy & Crystallography
- Structural Geology
- Surficial Geology
Coverage: 1669 - Present
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Any scientific discipline
GreenFILE (greeninfoonline.com), is a bibliographic database of information about environmental concerns, focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.
- Indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents & reports
- 300,000 records
- Full text for selected titles
- Searchable cited references for more than 200 titles
- Earth & Environmental Sciences
- Global Warming
- Renewable Energy
HeinOnline (Legal History Documents)
Contains 70 million pages of legal history in searchable full-text and image-based format. Coverage draws from over 1,500 periodicals.
- U.S. Reports
- Legal Classics
- World Trials
- U.N. & League of Nations Treaty Series
- Federal Register
- Code of Federal Relations (CFR)
Coverage: 1754 - Present
Homeland Security Digital Library
This site contains three separate collections:
The HSDL general collection of over 69,500 items offers users a range of materials in contemporary and historical issues in homeland security and its related fields. Materials are selected and evaluated for their credibility and relevance by librarians and subject specialists. The collection includes material from a wide range of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities. Types of material in the collection include:
- Major Legislation & Policy Documents
- Presidential Directives & Executive Orders
- Speeches & Press Releases
- Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
- U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) Reports
- Think Tank Reports
- Homeland Security theses from the Naval Postgraduate School
- Federal Agencies’ Reports
- Hearings & Testimony
- State & Local Agency Reports
- Multi-media Sources
The HSDL Restricted Collection is a set of Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) or Unclassified//For Official Use Only (U//FOUO) materials. Access is limited to U.S. citizens who are federal, state, tribal or local government officials, or members of the U.S. military. Applicants must be authorized to view CUI or U//FOUO materials in the course of their official duties.
- Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Daily Open Source Infrastructure Report
- Homeland Security Report
- Insurgency Literature Review
- Terrorism Literature Report
- Terrorism Open Source Intelligence Report (TOSIR)
Digests no longer in publication:
- Regional & Country Watch List
- Strategic Warning Issues Review
- Warning Intelligence on the Internet Review (WIIR)
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Xplore
Provides full-text access to IEE and IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 plus select content back to 1950, and all current IEEE Standards.
Coverage: 1988 - Present
Select articles in full text back to 1952
Information Service in Physics, Electrotechnology, and Control (INSPEC)
Produced by the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE), INSPEC contains over 9 million records. It also links to cited references, citing articles, and related articles from the Web of Science database. Full text articles are available for some journals.
- Electrical Engineering
- Information Technology
- Atmospheric Optics & Physics
- Biomedical Sciences
- Materials Science
Coverage: 1969 - Present
With customized citation data, global metrics, and multidimensional profiles on the leading research institutions, you’ll get comprehensive insight into your performance.
Provides information on researchers that have been most highly cited during an eleven year period (updated periodically). For more information, please see their 11 Year Statement.
Biographical information: education, faculty and professional posts, memberships and/or offices, current research interests, and personal Web sites.
Full listing of publications: journal articles, book or book chapters, conference proceedings, web sites and other Internet resources
Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a comprehensive resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences.
Use JCR To Find:
- Most frequently cited journals in a field
- Highest impact journals in a field
- Largest journals in a field
Citation and article counts are indicators of researcher usage of specific journals. By tabulating and aggregating citation and article counts, JCR offers a unique perspective for journal evaluation and comparison.
Did you know? Sudden changes in a journal's size can affect the impact factor. Keep in mind that JCR should not be the sole source for evaluating journals. See: Using Journal Citation Reports Wisely for 3 other major factors and considerations. See also: JCR Help
Lexis-Nexis Advance (Password required)
Lexis-Nexis Advance is a database of 5 billion searchable documents from more than 32,000 legal, news and business sources, including federal legislation and regulations.
To access the database users must be employed by DoC and request an individual account from the Boulder Labs Library. To request an account contact a member of the reference staff and provide them with your: Name, Mail Code & Email Address.
For more information, see: http://global.lexisnexis.com/about.aspx.
Lexis Nexis TotalPatent One
TotalPatent One™ makes researching patent documents easier and faster with state-of-the-art search technology and new user interface design that enables you to uncover reliable results in the most efficient manner.
Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA)
Summaries from over 600 journal titles, as well as conference proceedings, books, technical reports and other monographs, are included.
- Air Pollution
- Atmospheric Disturbances
- Atmospheric Structure
- Groundwater/Surface Water Hydrology
- Hydrologic Cycle
- Meteorological Observations
- Physical Oceanography
- Radiation & Temperature
- Weather Forecasting
Coverage: 1974 - Present (Varies by journal: Journal / Coverage List)
National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
This database contains over two million records from hundreds of publications, colloquia, symposia, proceedings, and internal NASA reports.
Coverage: 1827 - Present (Varies by publication)
For a detailed list of indexed journals and their coverage, see: http://adsabs.harvard.edu/abs_doc/journal_abbr.html.
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Online Databases
Over 50 free databases searchable by keyword, property and substance name
- Atomic Reference Data for Electronic Structure Calculations
- NIST Atomic Spectra Database (ASD)
- Atomic Spectral Line Broadening Bibliographic Database
- Atomic Transition Probability Bibliographic Database
- Atomic Weights & Isotopic Compositions
- Basic Linear Algebra Computations in Java (JAMA)
- Ceramics WebBook
- NIST Chemical Kinetics Database
- NIST Chemistry WebBook
- ChemRate: A Calculational Database for Unimolecular Reaction
- Diatomic Spectral Database
- Elemental Data Index
- Engineering Statistics Handbook
- Fundamental Physical Constants
- Handbook of Basic Atomic Spectroscopic Data
- NIST Heat Transmission Properties of Insulating and Building Materials
- NIST High Temperature Superconducting Materials Database
- Hydrocarbon Spectral Database
- NIST Property Data Summaries
- NIST ITS-90 Thermocouple Database
- Statistical Reference Datasets
- Thermophysical Properties of Gases Used in the Semiconductor Industry
- NIST X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy Database
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Data Discovery Portal
Provides two approaches to search NOAA's vast data holdings: the traditional NOAA Data Catalog for all data, and the new NOAA OneStop catalog which (as of now) includes only archived datasets but will eventually replace the traditional catalog.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Institutional Repository
A digital library of scientific literature and research containing NOAA publications dating from NOAA’s formation in 1970 to present and NOAA-authored and -funded journal articles from 2015 forward. Digitized publications from NOAA’s predecessor agencies including the U.S. Weather Bureau and the U.S. Coast and Geodetic Survey are available via the NOAA Central Library Catalog and the NCL website. Additionally, this repository does not contain data; NOAA data can be found via the NOAA Data Discovery Portal.
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
NTRL is a database from the National Technical Information Service providing access to over 800,000 historical and current full-text government technical reports and indexing of over 3M technical reports from all agencies.
Subject Areas (selected):
- Astrophysics Energy
- Atmospheric Science
- Environmental Pollution & Control
- Material Science
- Natural Resources
- Ocean Science
- Space Technology
Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
Coverage: 1993 - Present
Index of worldwide conference proceedings. Searchable by conference name, sponsor, and editors.
Coverage: 1993 - Present
A service of the National Library of Medicine, this database provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals.
- General Science
- Health Care System
- Life Sciences
- Preclinical Sciences
- Veterinary Medicine
Coverage: 1965 - Present
Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL)
Technical Report Archive and Image Library(Trail) provides access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975.
Pilot currently contains the following report series:
NBS Monograph Series Major contributions to the technical literature on various subjects related to the National Bureau of Standards and published between 1959 and 1982. Most of the data provided is from direct measurements. This series of technical reports is highly referenced with more than 2000 citations found in Web of Science alone. More information can be found at the National Institute of Standards and Technology) web site http://nist.gov/. These detailed reports include:
- materials data
- mathematical functions
- time series
- diffraction patterns
Web of Science (Science Citation Index)
Indexes more than 9,200 journals. Contains the Cited Reference feature, which enables you to find articles that have cited a book, a patent or another article.
Coverage: 1955 - Present for NOAA and NTIA, 1900 - Present for NIST
Catalog of books, web resources, and other material held by libraries worldwide. Covers over 48 million titles. Dates of coverage: 1000 B.C-
World Cat Dissertations
Selectively covers masters theses and dissertations from the U.S., Canada, Great Britain, and Europe.
Coverage: 1861 - Present
The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) and the British Library, along with eight other participating countries (see Databases below), has an online global gateway for science information from 15 portals. Using federated searching, WorldWideScience.org provides one entry point and one query for searching multiple science portals. In time this gateway will tap into less well-known sources of valuable science.
- African Journals Online (South Africa)
- Article@INIST (France)
- Australian Antarctic Data Centre (Australia)
- Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information (Canada)
- CSIR Research Space (South Africa)
- Defence Research and Development Canada (Canada)
- DEFF Global E Prints (Denmark)
- DEFF Research Database (Denmark)
- Electronic Table of Contents (ETOC) (United Kingdom)
- J-EAST (Japan)
- J-STAGE (Japan)
- J-STORE (Japan)
- Journal@rchive (Japan)
- NARCIS (Netherlands)
- Science.gov (United States)
- Scientific Electronic Library Online (Argentina)
- Scientific Electronic Library Online (Brazil)
- Scientific Electronic Library Online (Chile)
- Scientific Electronic Library Online (Colombia)
- Scientific Electronic Library Online (Portugal)
- Scientific Electronic Library Online (Spain)
- Transactions and Proceedings of the Royal Society of New Zealand 1868-1961 (New Zealand)
- UK PubMed Central (United Kingdom)
- Vascoda (Germany)