An official website of the United States government
Here’s how you know
Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government
organization in the United States.
Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock (
A locked padlock
) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to
the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official,
The Library’s search box provides searching for articles, books, dissertations, reports, and more and can meet many research needs. The databases on this page provide precise subject-specific searching, direct access to full-text documents, or search features not available through the search box. To reach a specific database, click on the letter below that corresponds to the first letter of the database that you need to access. Additionally, for each database, the Library has identified selected subject areas or best uses; to search for a specific topic of interest, please use Ctrl + F (or ⌘ + F on Macs).
When you click on any of the following links, you will be leaving the Boulder Labs Library site. You may wish to review the privacy notice on those sites since their information collection practices may differ from ours. You can also automatically search the library's holdings on Google Scholar using our customized url. These databases are available to NOAA and NTIA staff only unless otherwise marked. If you are a NOAA or NTIA staff member working off-campus without a VPN, you can search your specific database in the Databases search tab on the library homepage for the correct proxid link.
NIST staff, please visit the NIST Virtual Library to access databases.
Includes full-text scholarly and business journals back to 1905, periodicals, dissertations, collections of working papers, and business press. This collection also contains 50 years’ worth of actual and forecast economic data for the G20 countries from Economist Intelligence Unit, market information from Dun & Bradstreet and others, and business cases. The ABI/INFORM index and full-text may also be searched using the Library’s search box.
Coverage: 1905 - Present
(NOAA and NTIA)
Created by the National Agricultural Library, provides indexing of journals from 1970 to present. It also indexes selected books, dissertations, and patents in these fields, some back to the 15th century.
This electronic glossary from the American Meteorological Society provides authoritative definitions and terms for meteorology publications. This living publication is updated frequently with new terms and updated definitions, including many NOAA contributions. If desired, the print versions of this glossary are available in the Branch Library Reference collection.
Provides 27M+ citations, including articles, news stories, letters, and other items listed in the table of contents of 12K+ journals from around the world. ArticleFirst may also be searched using the Library’s search box.
Coverage: 1990 - Present
Contains 13M+ records, including refereed and pre-print articles and conference papers, astronomical object information, data catalogs, data sets, and software. This database allows searching by controlled vocabulary and classification codes. Uniquely, the database can filter results by trending (most read by active users), useful (most cited by relevant papers), and reviews (most extensive citing the most papers in the field), as well as filtering by citation count, read count, and other usage statistics.
Coverage: 1500 - Present
Aggregates full text from 200+ subscription and open-access bioscience research journals from 150+ societies, research institutions, and university presses. Full text available through BioOne is also available through the Library’s search box.
Indexes 165K+ records, with a focus on life science journal articles and conference proceedings. Integration with Web of Science (WoS) adds citation and cited reference data. BIOSIS's controlled vocabulary and taxonomic data searching features are unique and provide for more precise literature searching.
Coverage: 1926 - Present
BIOSIS Citation Index is on the same platform and can be concurrently searched with Web of Science Core Collection, Inspec, Derwent Innovations Index, Data Citation Index, and other databases. Click the button above right to search all databases.
Uses over 60 indicators to screen for deceptive and predatory publishers, from misleading metrics to irregular publication practices. The searchable database identifies probable threats, with detailed reports on when and why a journal has been flagged as predatory.
Includes authoritative specifications for citing any type of publication in the Chicago bibliographic style, one of the most commonly used in publications. The Library subscription to this online resource includes access to the latest and previous editions of the Chicago Manual of Style.
Includes analyses of current policies and the impact of proposed policy alternatives. This database contains all newly created CRS reports in full-text, with archive reports added regularly. This database also includes select memoranda, briefings and consultations, seminars and workshops, congressional testimony, and responses to individual inquiries. The Library's search box does not generally include CRS reports.
Coverage: 2018 - present, selected archives
The primary DOI registration source, fills in citation information from a DOI or incomplete citation. DOIs are primarily registered for recent journal articles, but can also be found for book chapters, reports, and other publication types. Use CrossRef to add DOIs to your ILL requests for faster turn-around.
Integrated with Web of Science (WoS), adds a link to view the issue table of contents (TOC) for each Web of Science record. Search or browse Current Contents Connect to set up TOC alerts.
Coverage: 1998 - Present
Current Contents Connect is on the same platform and can be concurrently searched with Web of Science Core Collection, Inspec, Derwent Innovations Index, BIOSIS Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and other databases. Click the button above right to search all databases.
Find data sets, data studies, and software in a single search interface for almost 400 data repositories worldwide. Integration with Web of Science (WoS) adds a link to search result records to view associated data where available.
Coverage: <1900 - Present
Data Citation Index is on the same platform and can be concurrently searched with Web of Science Core Collection, Inspec, Derwent Innovations Index, BIOSIS Citation Index, and other databases. Click the button above right to search all databases.
Indexes patents from 59 worldwide authorities. In addition to patent abstracts (translated in English where appropriate) and metadata, includes citation indexing of patents citing each patent and the patents and literature cited by patent examiners. Derwent class and manual codes and patent family indexing are unique and provide for more precise patent searching. Integration within Web of Science (WoS) allows concurrent literature and patent searching.
Coverage: 1963 - Present
Derwent Innovations Index is on the same platform and can be concurrently searched with Web of Science Core Collection, Inspec, BIOSIS Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and other databases. Click the button above right to search all databases.
Indexes 2M+ DoD technical reports, many of which are available in full-text. Access to technical reports is limited to those that are unclassified with unlimited distribution; for more comprehensive search and full-text capabilities, create an account and register your CAC. Also use DTIC to find report AD (accession) numbers for ILL requests. The Library's search box does not generally include DoD technical reports.
Coverage: 1906 - present
Evaluates and indexes open access journals. Journals must meet a minimum criteria to be included in DOAJ, meaning that no journal in DOAJ is considered predatory. DOAJ also provides for each journal: links to aims and scope, editorial board, and author instructions; when available, DOAJ also has information on Article Processing Charges (APC), if there is a fee to submit a paper, and time from submission to publication. DOAJ journals may also be searched using the Library’s search box.
Contains 21M+ records, including full-text from 6K journals in science, technology, engineering and medicine and content from monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. The full-text in this database is typically not available (embargoed) for one year after publication. Full text available through STM Source is also available through the Library’s search box.
Coverage: 1911 - Present
Provides access to specialized indexes and full text supporting environmental and geoscience research. Includes:
The full text publications of this collection may also be accessed using the Library’s search box.
The Earth, Atmospheric, & Aquatic Science Collection is on the same platform and can be concurrently searched with GeoRef and MGA. Click the button above right to search all these databases.
Includes 3M+ scientific references (primarily peer-reviewed journal articles) and associated data from peer-reviewed literature used by EPA to develop its risk assessments. This literature can be searched or browsed by contaminant (project).
Coverage: 1811 - present
Built on the foundation of Web of Science, consists of three indicators:
These indicators reveal emerging science trends as well as influential individuals, institutions, papers, journals, and countries in each field of research. Click Impact Assessment to see all related impact asssessment tools.
Established by the American Geosciences Institute, contains 3.1M+ references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. In addition to searching for publications by keyword and title, GeoRef features searching by controlled vocabulary and latitude and longitude.
Coverage: 1669 - Present
GeoRef is on the same platform and can be concurrently searched with the Earth, Atmospheric, & Aquatic Science Collection and MGA. Click the button above right to search all these databases.
Searches across all disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, patents, abstracts, and court opinions. Google Scholar searches within full text as well as abstracts and titles. Try the Library’s search box for more precise searches and links to full-text accessible through the library.
Provides definitive guidance on word usage and other style requirements and is required to be used for all technical reports and other government-issued publications. If desired, the 2000 GPO style manual is available in print at both libraries.
Produced by the GPO, provides full-text access to all types of U.S. government documents, including technical reports; Congressional bills and legislative documents; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments.
Coverage: 1976 - Present
Focuses on the social science of environmental issues and indexes articles, books, essays, and reports from non-profit and governmental organizations.
Coverage: 1910 - Present
Preserves and provides access to millions of publications, including government and non-profit technical reports, older journals, and books. Full text available through HathiTrust is also available through the Library’s search box
Provides full-text searching of 170M+ pages from legislative history and academic legal journals. The database includes U.S. Federal, Canadian, and International law and regulations.
Coverage: 1754 - Present
Provides full-text searching of 182K+ documents from federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities; and think tanks, research centers, colleges and universities. Though the U.S. policy and strategy documents in this database are generally related to homeland security, it includes publications on a wide variety of topics. The Research Tools collection includes lexicons, compiled statistics, and an authoritative list of thesis repositories.
Coverage: 1776 - Present
Provides full-text access to IEEE and IET transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988 plus select content back to 1952, and all published IEEE standards. Provides searching by Inspec terms as well as full-text searching within publications. IEEE and IET publications may also be accessed using the Library’s search box.
Coverage: 1988 - Present
Select publications in full text back to 1952
Produced by the IET, provides detailed indexing for 16M+ articles, conference papers, reports, and more. Integration with Web of Science (WoS) adds citation and cited reference data. Inspec's controlled vocabulary and numerical data searching features are unique and provide for more precise literature searching.
Coverage: 1969 - Present
Inspec is on the same platform and can be concurrently searched with Web of Science Core Collection, Derwent Innovations Index, BIOSIS Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and other databases. Click the button above right to search all databases.
Using Inspec indexing data, provides bibliometric and analytical data about publications by organization, broad subject classification, or Inspec controlled vocabulary. This data allows comparison between organizations, identification of emerging science trends and co-ocurring concepts, and identification of influential institutions, journals, and conferences in each field of research. Click Impact Assessment to see all related impact asssessment tools.
Using Web of Science citation data, provides bibliometric and analytical data about publications by research area, organization, geographic region, funding agency, journal/conference/book, or individual. Canned NOAA-wide reports include research and citation performance, institution profile, collaborations, and individual researcher performance. Request specialized InCites reports from the Reference Team at the Library or read more about the Bibliometrics program. Click Impact Assessment to see all related impact asssessment tools.
Provides citation metrics on journals, including the well-known Journal Impact Factor. JCR includes additional journal citation analyses, including journal citation metrics by country/region and eigenfactors and other complex citation metrics.
Note that JCR should not be the sole source for evaluating journals and should not be used for an individual's impact assessment. Request specialized journal and individual citation reports from the Reference Team at the Library and click Impact Assessment to see all related impact asssessment tools.
Provides access to 60K+ news, business, and legal sources, including newspapers, trade publications, federal legislation, and regulations. Use this database for negative news searches or to set up news alerts on specific topics, people, or businesses. To access the database users must be employed by DoC and request an individual account from Boulder Labs Library with your: name, mail code, and email address.
Webster’s Third New International Dictionary is the official guide for the spelling of words not appearing in the GPO style manual. The Library subscribes to this database for direct online, unabridged access; this dictionary can also be found in print in the Main Library.
Provides detailed indexing for 1.4M+ articles, conference papers, books, and government reports from around the world. The controlled vocabulary and classifications applied to each record are unique to this database and provide for more precise literature searching.
Coverage: 1950 - Present
MGA is on the same platform and can be concurrently searched with the Earth, Atmospheric, & Aquatic Science Collection and GeoRef. Click the button above right to search all these databases.
Provides access to 800K+ historical and current full-text government technical reports and indexing of 3M+ technical reports from all agencies. Also use NTRL to find report PB (accession) numbers for ILL requests. If you are unable to find full-text through NTRL, try DTIC or HathiTrust.
Produced by NIST, include data from literature, NIST research, or both. The databases linked above are all free to use.
Provides two approaches to search for NOAA data: the traditional NOAA Data Catalog for all data, and the new NOAA OneStop catalog which (as of now) includes only archived datasets but will eventually replace the traditional catalog. Data includes satellite data, research data, software, models, and other NOAA-generated data. The OneStop catalog allows filtering data by instrument, geographic coordinates, data theme, and more.
Contains NOAA publications dating from NOAA’s formation in 1970 to present and NOAA-authored and -funded journal articles from 2015 forward. NOAA publications that must be deposited to the IR include NOAA professional papers, atlases, technical reports, technical memorandums, and NOAA-authored or NOAA-funded journal articles. Digitized publications from NOAA’s predecessor agencies, including the U.S. Weather Bureau and the U.S. Coast and Geodetic Survey, are available via the NOAA Central Library Catalog.
Covers 6.5M+ citations: papers from every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. PapersFirst may also be searched using the Library’s search box.
Coverage: 1993 - Present
Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre, 192K+ in total. Can search by conference sponsor, editors, and individual papers within a proceeding in this interface. ProceedingsFirst may also be searched using the Library’s search box.
Provides full-text searching of U.S. legislative and executive publications, including bills, laws, presidential executive orders, and legislative histories. A unique feature of this database is searching 17K+ maps that are found in the Congressional Serial Set, dated from 1789.
Coverage: 1789 - Present
A service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to 30M+ citations from MEDLINE, literature, and books, and may provide links to open-access content from PubMed Central. Allows searches by type of publication and mapping to MeSH terms and subheadings.
Coverage: 1966 - Present
Select content back to 1865
Indexes 65M+ journal articles, conference proceedings, and books in science and social sciences. Includes citation counts for each record and indexes the references for each record,with 1.5B+ total cited references indexed. Provides specialized searching such as cited reference searching to find citations to publications not fully indexed in Web of Science. Also provides citation data by individual, publication, and subject area and includes tools to analyze and visualize search results.
Consists of these indexes:
Web of Science Core Collection is on the same platform and can be concurrently searched with Inspec, Derwent Innovations Index, BIOSIS Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, and other databases. Click the button above right to search all databases.